Our Committee Purpose

The Committee is a shared and coordinated voice for the use of Geographic Information Systems (GIS) in Emergency Management in New Zealand. The Committee advocates, educates, advises and provides support, guidance, recommendations and best practice for GIS and Emergency Management practitioners while ensuring alignment to the principles and purpose of the Coordinated Incident Management System (CIMS).

Our official voting committee was ratified on Monday the 31st of August, 2020. The individuals are listed as follows:

Anna Mason, National Emergency Management Agency
(2020/21 Chair)
Kate Waterhouse, Bay of Plenty Regional Council
(2020/21 Deputy Chair)
to be confirmed
(2020/21 Secretary)
Derek Phyn, Waikato Regional Council
(2020/21 Upper North Island Liaison)
Jacob Hechter, New Plymouth District Council
(2020/21 Lower North Island Liaison)
Gavin Treadgold, Canterbury CDEM (2020/21 South Island Liaison)
Heather Duarte, Ministry of Primary Industries
(2019/20 National Liaison)
Angela Doherty, Auckland CDEM
Anne Shanahan, Tauranga District Council
Craig MacAlpine, Fire and Emergency NZ
Ed Cook, Eagle Technology
Eddie Hebert, Department of Conservation
Gill Nightingale, NZ Transport Agency
Susan Shaw, Land Information NZ
Tegan Capp, Northland CDEM
Teresa Simcox, Hawke’s Bay CDEM

The Committee is supported by a number of Technical Advisors:

Gail YearburyNorthland CDEM
Jake HansonMinistry of Primary Industries
Jo PatersonWest Coast CDEM
John CarterEarthquake Commission
Melissa BrooksNew Plymouth District Council
Simon ChambersNational Emergency Management Agency
Teresa GordonTaranaki CDEM